CompTIA Network+ N10-006: Network Security

Target Audience
Expected Duration
Lesson Objectives
Course Number
Expertise Level

A network’s security is only as strong as the security of its individual systems. Before connecting individual computers to the network, you need to ensure that the computers are secured using proper security mechanisms. Identifying the appropriate steps and measures you can implement to protect your systems and keeping your resources and revenue safe from potential attacks is a key aspect of securing systems on your network. This course explores the different security concepts and common threats, and vulnerabilities of a network. It also covers network hardening, physical security, firewalls, Network Access Control models, and forensics. This course is one of a series in the SkillSoft learning path that covers the objectives for certification exam CompTIA Network+ N10-006.

Target Audience
Network administrators, network technicians, network installers, helpdesk technicians, IT cable installers and any other professional working with computer networks


Expected Duration (hours)

Lesson Objectives

CompTIA Network+ N10-006: Network Security

  • start the course
  • define disaster recovery and business continuity security concepts
  • define security policies related to user awareness, training, and adherence to standards and policies
  • recognize the process involve with first responder and data breach incident management
  • recall single points of failure security concepts including critical nodes, critical assets, and redundancy
  • compare vulnerability scanning and penetration testing
  • define elements of denial of service
  • define protocol-based attacks including ARP cache poisoning, packet and protocol abuse, and spoofing
  • define types of wireless attacks including evil twin, rogue AP, war driving, war chalking, bluejacking, and bluesnarfing
  • distinguish the different type of attack techniques including using brute force, session hijacking, social engineering, man-in-the-middle, and VLAN hopping
  • recognize how malware, insider threats, and malicious employees can compromise your network
  • recognize how open ports and unpatched legacy systems can attack the surface of your network
  • identify insecure communication channels and protocols
  • define host-based and cloud or server-based anti-malware software
  • identify processes to secure switch ports including DHCP snooping, ARP inspection, MAC address filtering, VLAN assignments, and network segmentation
  • use secure protocols such as SSH, SNMPv3, TLS, SSL, SFTP, HTPS, Ipsec, Hashes, MD5, and SHA
  • define different access list types including web and content filtering, port filtering, IP filtering, and implicit deny statement
  • recognize the different wireless security types
  • recognize user authentication types including CHAP/MSCHAP, PAP, EAP, Kerberos, single sign-on, and multifactor and two-factor authentication
  • describe mantraps and door access controls
  • describe concepts of physical monitoring including network closets, video monitoring, and IP cameras
  • describe concepts of physical securities including proximity readers, biometrics, keypads, cypher locks, and security guards
  • define host and network-based firewall software and hardware
  • define the different firewall types
  • configure firewall rules including ACL, implicit deny, block or allow, and outbound and inbound traffic
  • define the different firewall placement strategies
  • define 802.1x port-based network access control
  • define network access control posture assessment
  • define guest and quarantine networks
  • differentiate between persistent and non-persistent network access control agents
  • differentiate between edge and access control
  • identify first responder forensic procedures, including how to secure an area, escalate, and document the scene
  • identify forensic evidence and data handling
  • describe the elements involved in forensic reporting
  • understand the basic concepts of networking security.
  • Course Number:

    Expertise Level